From The Archives – Trophy Preservation

In November 2022, our Horticultural Society donated two of our trophies to the Museum of Dufferin. I am happy to report that they have now been fully catalogued into the museum's archives.

The first trophy was Designer of the Year, which was presented through the years 2011-2019. The winners were: 2011-2013 Melanie Marjoram, 2014: Jean Phillips, 2015-2017 Melanie Marjoram, 2018-2019 Lynda Stringer.

The second trophy was a combination of two prizes: Gardening Angels and Volunteer of the Year, presented through the years 2003-2019. The winners for Gardening Angels were: 2003 E. Lister, D. Reusch, 2004 M. Stepanov, 2005 J. Pendlebury, F. Bouma, B. Douglas, J. Seltzer, 2006 Linda & Peter Little, 2007 M. Stepanov, 2008 Donna McAvoy, 2009 Linda Amos, Olive Pendleton, Jean Brough, Linda Dadd, 2010 Maria Stepanov, Sharon Knapp, 2011 Maria Stepanov, Sharon Knapp, 2012 Donna McAvoy, Barb Rankin, 2013 Lisa Hare, Karen Weightman.

For the Volunteer of the Year trophy, the winners were: 2014 Thom Robinson, 2015 Jill Cutter, 2016 Ken Burrows, 2017 Donna McAvoy, 2018 Betty Logan, 2019 Jean Phillips.

We are very pleased that our trophies are now part of the collection at Museum of Dufferin. See you next month for our next edition.

Vivian Petho – Archivist



